I am aware this is very slow of me, but I just realized yesterday that summer was over. Just because kids go back to school, that doesn’t mean summer is over to me, because an institution cannot control the weather. Neither can science pinpoint a date and make me think that that is exactly when fall occurs each year. So I always wait for the good old Texas weather to just get freaky. By freaky, I mean, cold one day, hot the next, rainy here, tornadoes there. Well, I walked outside and it had cooled off, and I realized the freakiness had begun. Therefore, fall is coming. Man… I’m definitely a summer girl. It doesn’t matter how hot it gets. So, in remembrance of summer, when life was crazy and world-traveled, I am putting up my summer reading list so that it may live on in someone else’s fall reading list. I hope someone else posts up their summer reading list so that it may become all or part of my fall reading list…Someone? Someone? Beuhler?

1. What to Expect the First YearEisenberg, Murkoff, and Hathaway
I didn’t buy this book until the end of May…Jack was 7 months old. I guess I had other things on my mind before that, and wasn’t paying as much attention to his bowel movements. ha ha. But, honestly, I don’t understand how parents are supposed to know how to do anything without books like these…
2. The Great DivorceCS Lewis
This is a CS Lewis classic, if you haven’t read it. Yes, it’s Lewis and everyone considers themselves a Lewis fan. It goes over heaven and hell a bit, but mostly the excuses people make for not wanting to follow God or about their lives. It’s deep. I cried at the introduction.
3. Through Painted DesertsDonald Miller
I’ve been reading this one on and off since Nate died, because it was one of his favorites. It’s the diary of a guy who moves from Texas to Oregon (do you know now why it was one of Nate’s favorites?), about the roadtrip and how he discovers himself along the way.
4. Come Away My BelovedFrances J. Roberts
Is this some famous devotional that all Christians are supposed to know about, like ‘Utmost For His Highest’? Because I had never heard of it… But it was really helpful. I like how it made God talk to me. And sometimes God was harsh, ha ha. It helped me when I was making tough decisions about leaving or staying in Bosnia. It was actually Mackenzie’s and I stole it… bwa ha ha.
5. 100 Years of SolitudeGabriel Garcia Marquez
This one was so whimsical and interesting. It won Marquez the Nobel Prize, so I thought it was worth reading. His style was the coolest, narrating the events of a family in a small town in Colombia. It was like listening to a normal story, and before you know it, he’s talking about some magical event where people are floating off into the sky or ghosts are walking around having conversations and stealing things. But, somehow, he still makes it sound normal. When I imagine this book, I imagine laying on a warm beach on the island of Hvar in Croatia…because that’s where I read most of it.
6. The Year of Magical ThinkingJoan Didion
This is the diary of a woman who lost her husband. She calls the year after he died her ‘year of magical thinking’. I thought I might have something to benefit from it by reading it this year. What I am amazed at is how much she remembers. I remember very little about this year, she remembered what dresses she wore to this event or that. The phone calls she was making. I think if I had written this same book, I would have called it my “Year of Magical Non-thinking”…
7. Terrify No MoreGary Haugen
This one enlightened me about another humanitarian aid crisis that I had previously not paid much mind to. It’s about this NGO that does secret operations in the child sex trafficking trade. They go undercover, get in good with pimps, and then rescue the girls. It’s amazing, and I really admire people who are willing to put their lives on the line for these little girls all the time. It’s truly breaking the oppressed free, just in a more literal manner. Did I mention they’re christians? Anyway, they also work with modern-day slaves and other types of oppressed peoples. It’s definitely worth reading, if nothing else than to inform about how alive the child sex trade and slavery is today, and how something needs to be done about it.
8. The Kite RunnerKhaled Hosseini
Okay, okay. I still have a few chapters left. But it’s really good so far… And I wanted to read it before the movie came out. I think I will reach my goal. I don’t want to talk about this one too much, because it’s still on the New York Bestseller list, so you can see it there, and I don’t want to ruin anything about the movie before it comes out.

No, I didn’t read Harry Potter. Know why? I ordered the stupid 6th book because I wanted to reread the entire series and it’s taken them 2 weeks to get it to me. I think they lost it. But I got it for $5, and so I’m hesitant to just yet complain about crappy service…unless they don’t send it to me by the end of this week. But, when I finally get it, you better believe that you probably won’t see me on here until I emerge from my black hole where all in the world in Harry Potter. That reminds me, I’ll need to find a babysitter during that time…

