Domestic Lauren and her unfortunate “magic wand”.

Due to popular demand, though it makes me feel overly mom-like to put up posts like this, here are more pie and house cleaning recipes, so everyone can be a little bit more hippy-like, and be happy hippies that eat pie, at that!
Here’s a recipe for one I baked for Jack’s birthday. Several people asked me for the recipe. So here you go, yo.

Blueberry Sour Cream Pie

1 unbaked pie crust
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup sour cream
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

for the topping:
3 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons chopped pecans

1. Mix sugar and flour together in a bowl.
2. Beat in sour cream, egg, vanilla, and salt until smooth (about 5 minutes)
3. Fold in blueberries.
4. Pour into pie crust and bake at 400F for 25 minutes
5. Combine topping ingredients.
6. Remove pie from oven after 25 minutes, sprinkle on topping.
7. Return pie to oven and bake another 10 minutes.
8. Chill before serving.
* My modifications are that I pre-baked the pie crust for about 5 minutes, and just covered the edges with foil with I put it back in with the topping on it. I also added a bit of lemon zest to the filling. Mmmm…it was good.

And here’s my latest house cleaning recipe:

Kitchen Floor Cleaner
1 gallon hot water
1 cup white vinegar
2 tablespoons castile soap
1/4 cup washing soda
10 drops eucalyptus oil, 7 drops patchouli, 3 drops lavender

Just mix it all together and mop with it. The book says rinsing is not necessary, but I think it leaves a film if I don’t. Therfore, I do.

Everybody make sure you wish Nate a happy birthday tomorrow in your prayers. I’m sure in heaven, he’s invited a bunch of his new dead-to-the-world-but-more-alive-than-ever friends over for a party. And when you have Jesus show up at your birthday party, you know it’s a winner. 25 years since the day he was born. For some reason, I’m not feeling very sad about it. I’m feeling really happy for him, and like maybe he doesn’t even care that it’s his birthday, because he’ll live forever and will lose count pretty soon. I’m sure he still misses me and Jack Jack like we miss him, and wishes we were there to celebrate with him. Even though I’m not sad about it being his birthday, I still miss him and love him, of course. I’ll have to make a pie for him. Thank you, God, for letting Nate be born and for bringing him into my life. Thank you for helping him to have the best birthday tomorrow he’s ever had since he was conceived. Infinitely better than being down here.
Happy birthday, bub. I love you.

