Jack and I flew up to Chicago to see the rest of the Taylors and Pam this weekend. I love my family. Hopefully one of them will soon send me pictures of the weekend to post up.
Spending time with them, seeing them laugh, not as many tears now, seeing little boys just starting out in life…learning to share, to play, to love. Looking at my nephews, little Isaac (3 months) and Levi (2 years), I realized that I love those boys in a motherly sort of way. I don’t know what it is, but I just have this protection that I feel over them that I don’t necessarily feel over other kids (other than Jack Jack, of course). Maybe because I know they have a little bit of Nathan and Jack blood running through their veins, and Jack and Nathan a bit of theirs, and, after all, they’re family…I’ll love them forever. But not just Isaac and Levi, all of them. And I was just overwhelmed with love for our family, mine back home, and Nate’s in Oregon and Illinois. And that, in turn, made me think of my little family that is just mine, the one that was, and the one that is now, and the one that will be. And then I wrote a song. For Nate. For Jack.
Since I still lack the ability to record it still, here are the lyrics.

Miracle

We laid the baby down
Made nightly love
Then fell fast asleep

Went to work each day
Full of its toils
And came home every night to say

“Honey, I’m so glad
That I have you to come home to.”
We did and said it right,
But did we really know the miracle?

If we hadn’t gone to Oregon,
What would life look like now?
Your son would know a father’s love
I’d still be your wife.

You’d kiss me every morning
And hold me close at night
But would I still be blinded to
The miracle of
Ordinary life?
The beauty of
Every day
Every day

I lay the baby down
Snuggle up closer
Then fall fast asleep

Live and work each day
Full of its toils
And come home every night to say

“Baby, I’m so glad
That I still have you to come home to.
I know I make mistakes
But life with you is just a short-lived miracle.”

If we hadn’t gone to Oregon,
What would life look like now?
Your son would know a father’s love
And I’d still be your wife

You’d kiss me every morning
And hold me close each night
But would I still be blinded to
The miracle of
Ordinary life?
The beauty of
Every day
Every day

But I see it now
How I see it now
And I’m so grateful for the time that
I get with you, I get with you…
I got with you…I got with you.

Thank you for my new song, God.

