It’s “A Million Pictures Time” because, um, it’s that time. Decidedly so.

I’m enticing those of you who don’t care about my pictures with a dang good sweet potato pie recipe I found. It’s a variation of one on the Food Network. It uses cream, but I found that diluted the flavor. Here’s what I did instead:

SWEET POTATO PIE

2 pie crusts
2 pounds sweet potatoes, for 1 1/2 cups puree
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
Pinch salt
3 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon grated orange zest
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 cup dried sweetened cranberries

Topping:
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 stick butter (I used coconut oil)
1/2 cup crumbled shortbread cookies

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Prebake your pie shell about 7 minutes.
Prick the sweet potatoes with a fork and cook them in the microwave about 4-5 minutes until soft. When cool enough to handle, peel the sweet potatoes and puree the pulp in a food processor with 1/2 stick butter and a pinch of salt. Measure 1 1/2 cups puree into a bowl. In another bowl beat the eggs and sugar until the sugar has melted. Add the eggs to the sweet potato puree and whisk well. Add the dried cranberries, orange zest, cinnamon, and nutmeg and stir well to combine. Pour the mixture into the pie shell. Cover the edges of the crust with foil to prevent burning. Place the pie pan on a sturdy cookie sheet to catch any spills. Lower the oven temperature to 325 degrees F about 35-45 minutes. Remove from the oven.

Meanwhile, saute the shortbread cookies and the pecans in the butter. Then put the pecans and cookies on a baking sheet and bake them with the pie for about 10 minutes to toast them. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the cooled pie and serve immediately. Makes 2 pies. One to eat, and one to give away to someone who may only eat crappy pie this holiday season (make sure yours didn’t turn out crappy first)…

And here’s the best hot chocolate in the world:

NUTELLA HOT CHOCOLATE

2 tablespoons nutella (but you can vary this amount on your own preferences)
1 1/3 cups milk or soymilk

Put Nutella and 1/3 cup milk in small saucepan over medium heat. Whisk until blended. Add remaining milk, increase heat to medium-high, and whisk until hot and frothy. Soooooo good…

eminent.jpg
Poor Jack. Evil uncles.

posed-laughing.jpg
You might think we are actually laughing about something hilarious…Nope, we’re faking a fun laughing picture.

snowflakes.jpg
Cutting out snowflakes and drinking Nutella hot chocolate.

tree.jpg
Oh Beautiful Christmas Tree! Yes, I realize the topper is leaning…it still is, because frankly I think it’s better that way. I don’t know why. I dislike perfectionism, but love perfect that isn’t perfectionated. Like nights where you hang out with people you love and put crooked stars on Christmas trees and drink hot chocolate.

I also want to add some from the farm, because I like the idyllic pastoral scenes:

farmer-jack.jpg
Farmer Jack.

posedlaughing.jpg
Fake posed laughing again– this time in a field. I had this one planned before we even went to the farm. No, I’m not a dork. Okay, yes I am.

jackpolitician.jpg
If Jack ever runs for president, I’m totally using this picture in his campaign.

somebodys-on-my-head.jpg
We wuv each other.

poignant.jpg
Yes, we do.

