So, for all my natural friends out there, I thought I would share this with you, because it’s kind of fun.  And, also, weird and interesting to others who think it is…weird and interesting. Or just plain weird. I’ve been doing a detox over the last 4 days and am continuing for a couple more weeks.  It consists of (has consisted of) a 3 day juice fast followed by raw foods ONLY for 2 weeks.  That means no meat, poultry, fish, tofu, milk, cheese, egges, anything baked, cooked, grilled, or sauteed.  Only fruits and vegetables (maybe some dehydrated, some pickled), some nuts, and cold-pressed oils are allowed.  WOO-HOO!  In case you’re wondering if I’ve stumbled across some sort of anorexia kick, don’t worry, I am eating more nuts, oils, avocados and olives than should be legally allowed which are all healthily fattening, and taking supplements.  And it’s only for 2 weeks, and after that I’m back to my good ole carniverous self.

I have always done detoxes every year or so throughout my life, except the last 2 (due to 9 months being pregnant and little more than a year nursing Jackabee).  So I thought it was well overdue, and have been excited about it.  I don’t know, there is something very spiritual about cleaning your body so well.   It’s like starting fresh again.  I’m a big believer that our spirit, mind, and body are very connected together in the way we worship God.  Otherwise, he probably wouldn’t call us to do fasts in the first place.  Anybody with me on that?  Anybody disagree?  If you’re wondering what I think about the fact that our body dies while our soul or spirit (maybe our mind, or parts of it) continues, well, the answer is that I think we get new bodies after we die.  Like Jesus had after he was resurrected where he still ate, walked, talked, was touchable, but could walk through walls and sometimes be invisible and stuff.  Those bodies will be better and won’t have to be detoxified, obviously, because they will be invincible from disease or death.

It’s the disease and death part that made me think I should do only raw foods.  It makes me think that what Adam and Eve ate in the garden must have just grown up out of the ground and they ate it that way.  That was before the Fall.  And eating only raw– or “living” (since they haven’t been cooked in any way) — foods are a sign of life.  Like I’m saying to God, “I choose life, I choose You”.  I’m telling God how much I wish he’d come already.  Come already, God.  It’s tough to flounder around down here.  But you know that already.

Anyway, I’m telling you all this because if I am talking about going to some BBQ 4 days from now, you will know I have failed. :)  Also, mainly, because I found some puh-retty good looking recipes for stuff that would be fun to post on here, eventually.  Oh yeah, we’re talking pies.  Just because I’m on a strict palette for the next couple of weeks does NOT mean I give up Pie Day Friday. But I’ll tell you about them after I eat them. 

Also, I wanted everyone to know if I die suddenly without any known cause sometime in the next 2 weeks, it’s probably because I ate some sort of poisonous mushroom. There are like 20 billion kinds at the Central Market I went to today, and some of them kind of scared me. I’m sure they don’t sell poisonous ones, though.  But then again, they sell aspartame…Nevermind, I’m going to shut my mouth now.  Goodbye.

