I didn’t write about it when it happened but Jack had been sick with yet another ear infection and fever. My first thought was panic that he was going to join the vast crowd of kids who got recurring ear infections and made their parents pay all this money for medicine and ear tubes and etc. Not what any parent wants.

So, I started thinking until my brain hurt about what I could do for him. He sat sucking on his little paci, and looked so pathetic and I really wanted to help him. I had gone to get him the antibiotics for the first ear infection, and here he had one soon after, so I ruled the antibiotics out as being helpful.

My brain went back to about 2 years ago now, when Nate and I had my arch nemesis dog, Blue. I’ve written about her before on here, and though I loved her, I am glad she is out of my life now. Nate LOVED her, though. So one day, we ruined a perfectly nice and pleasant walk by taking her on it. Nah, I’m being mean. Okay, I’ll start over. We took her for a walk around our neighborhood. When we reached the street in back of us, someone had let their rottweiler loose (dummies) and, of course, the dog came up and bit Blue. I could go into details but they will detract from the point of my story. Anyway, we walked her home, and found a small gash on her stomach. Worried about it, we called our friend who had worked for a vet’s office. She told us that it would probably get infected because of something in dog saliva, and we should put her on antibiotics for it.

“How much would those cost?” asked Nathan fretfully.

“About $100,” she answered.

Of course, that was no-brainer for us–we couldn’t afford a random $100 to spend on the dog. I suggested selling her to an owner that could love her better than us (me), and pay for her medicine. We decided to wait to see if it did get infected, after all. It did. By the second day, it was about 2 inches long of a red infection around the cut in her belly. Nate dismissed my suggestions to sell the dog, and started looking up natural ways to cure an infection. He found garlic. Lots and lots of garlic. So, for two nights, he chopped up 5 cloves of garlic and would put it in her food. She would gag it down, but she ate it. We also put honey on her cut. The first day, the infection around the cut was reduced by half. By the second day, it was completely gone and she was totally healthy.

We were amazed. And said we were going to share the garlic love for all around as long as we both should live.

Okay, come back to present day Lauren with sick Jack. What did I decide to do? Start experimenting with my son as a natural cure guinea pig, of course. I chopped up 3 cloves of garlic (Jack is a little smaller than Blue was), and smothered it in honey to help it go down easier. Looking back on it, I should have hid them in some mashed potatoes or something, but that’s looking back on it, because I didn’t. Jack pretty much choked them down unpleasantly, but he ate it all in one spoonful. For the next 2 hours, he was miserable, sucking on his paci, still feverish, and now smelling profusely of garlic. After 2 hours, he was miraculously better. He got down, started running around and laughing like his old self. I felt his forehead. No more fever. That night, he didn’t wake up one time complaining about his ear infection. And that was the only dose I ever had to give him. Amazing! I’m such a garlic lover now! The downside was that he ended up smelling garlicky for about 3 days. But it was worth it.

I later read that garlic is anti-fungal, anti-biotic, and anti-bacterial. And before there was Tylenol, doctors used to prescribe it to reduce fevers. Great! There’s actually research to back me up (for once).

Anyway, I thought I would pass on mine and Nathan’s random experiments with my dogs and children with you all, in case you needed them. Got any infected cuts? Garlic! Ear infection? Garlic! Fever? Garlic! Okay, that’s all. Goodbye.

